Funny thing this morning I recieved and email stating
“Hello,
The reason I am contacting you is my interest in buying your website – tipsforyourwebsite.com . If you are interested, could you please give me your phone number, so I can call you, or just write me back.
I have cash to buy today!Thank you and looking forward to hearing from you”
While my first reaction was sweet as show me the money- this only lasted for a few seconds before I thought and why?
The domain name itself isn’t overly special. While the site does have google ads they aren’t making a fortune and are really just for experimentation so this enquiry doesn’t make alot of money.
Is it a scam ? And I displaying typical internet overload paranoia symptoms thinking everything is a scam.
Well I’ll reply and see what happens and let you know but my feeling it is a scam because quite a few other people received the exact same email just name changes.
One scam is that they get you to get an appraisal from a company they own or are close associated with- so you pay to get the appraisal and then never here from them again.
UPDATE:
Well I haven’t heard back from them so I’m obviously not going to retire on the proceeeds of this domain sale but the possibilities of what they may be up to is a bit more clear and I’m glad I was careful and replied from a gmail account because one theory going around is that they are trying to “HiJack” domains. If you reply to them, they obtain header info on your account. This way, they can “clone” you and request domain transfers and who knows what else.